The first days in Piter - Reisverslag uit Moskou, Rusland van Yael López Jakten - WaarBenJij.nu The first days in Piter - Reisverslag uit Moskou, Rusland van Yael López Jakten - WaarBenJij.nu

The first days in Piter

Door: yaelreist

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yael

06 Februari 2011 | Rusland, Moskou

On Thursday I left Amsterdam. After a difficult and emotional night at home with beds on the floor in the living room, I said goodbye to my lovely family. The tears started in the morning.. Therefore, my eyes were puffy and red the entire day!
I flew at 14.10 PM from Schiphol Airport to Riga (Latvia). At the check in, in Amsterdam, they told me my luggage was too heavy. Six kilos too much. I had two options: pay E30 per kilo, or take out stuff. HELL NO I would pay E180! So there I was... taking out stuff on the floor. My hand luggage was already aproved, so I just put a lot of things in there ;). When the luggage was 21,5K the guy said it was okay (maybe because at that moment I was a small girl with tears in my eyes), so I checked in. After hugging my family I went through the gate.
The plane was pretty full when I walked in! And it was very quiet! Everyone looked at me; I came in with my big ass coat, my big hand luggage and there was no place to put everything, haha! So I just put all my stuff in different places, while everyone's eyes were on me, great.
I finally sat down. Next to me there was an empty seat, and next to that a guy with an accent from Brabant and a bit of German. The first few minutes I just talked to him in English, 'cause it was so weird! He was very kind and I shared some candy with him :). There was lots of turbulence at the end, but it was all good because of the beautiful sunset. When I looked down there was snow everywhere!
When I was at Riga Airport, the cold weather was not the problem, but the cold people. I really needed some nice people, but those were hard to find after I had left Holland. I went through another gate to wait for my plane and eat my sandwich that my mommy had made :). I sat down and got my sandwich. In it, there was a note that said "what a nice bread my mommy makes!". Hahahah, that's my mom! I appreciated every single bite.
After eating my sandwich I wanted to get some water. Unfortunately, the cashier didn't have enough euros to give me my change, so I didn't buy it. I decided to ask some people if they had change. I started talking to a girl and we got along very good. She is also studying in Piter. We stepped into a plane, that looked like a toy with weird noises and we laughed a lot :) We exchanged numbers and she waited with me until somebody came to pick me up.
Two girls picked me up, Christina and Olga. They were super nice and spoke good English! We drove through Piter and we got to Christina's place, where I would spend my first night. She had made an amazing soup and she has the cutest cat ever, which spend the whole night with me trying to attack everything that moved :) I was scratched all over, but I didn't mind at all! The next morning my Study Angel picked me up and I invited Julia (from school in The Hague) to come along. Christina also joined. We went to school and to Migration Office to get some paper work done. After a lot of waiting it was done and we met with Mahalia, Dragos and Alex. They were in Piter for a few days and they will stay in Pskov, 6 hours away from here. I had some lovely pancakes with chicken. We went to get ourselves Russian phone numbers. We were all pretty tired, but I had to go to my dorm. Olga drove me here with two of her friends and they carried it to my dorm. At the registration desk I saw Merit and San (also from the Hague University) :) My first reaction when I saw the room was OMG... Olga started laughing about the Sovjet style. But now all my stuff is in my room and my pictures are on the wall, I feel fine. My room mate is very nice, too! Her name is Christine and she's from Florida. The neighbours are Korean and they only speak "Russian", so that's an adventure.
My adventures so far: going to supermarket, asking for my key at reception, explaining at what time I was coming back after going out and when my neighbours were coming back, asking someone how to get to a place and actually going there alone without paying in the bus, 2 clubs in one night, walking through snow with high heels, taking a shower with not so nice water, subway station, russian food, buying internet... Thank god for Olga and Christina!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Rusland, Moskou

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

02 Juli 2012

Chau, chau, adios...

29 Mei 2012

Een random verslag

08 Mei 2012

Heuvoooon, Chile!

19 April 2012

Het glas is nog half vol!

04 April 2012

Mi vida Argentina
Yael

Hallo, privet, hola, guten Tag, bonjour, shalom, hello, czes! Welkom bij mijn verhaaltjes over mijn reisjes en ervaringen :)

Actief sinds 12 Jan. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 348
Totaal aantal bezoekers 18919

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Februari 2015 - 19 Juli 2015

Israel

05 Februari 2012 - 05 Juli 2012

Argentina!

03 Februari 2011 - 30 Juni 2011

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: